- The Plain Answer: What a LACP Is
- Who Issues It and Who It Is For
- How LACP Differs From Coursework-Based Designations
- The Eligibility Path in Detail
- What the Exam Looks Like
- The Three Exam Domains
- Fees, Retakes, and Rescheduling
- Scoring: What Is and Is Not Known
- After You Pass: Renewal and Practice Hours
- Career Value and Who Hires LACPs
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
- Frequently Asked Questions
- LACP means Life and Annuity Certified Professional, a credential issued by the NAIFA Certification Commission.
- The exam has 150 multiple-choice questions, a three-hour limit, and scaled scoring with no penalty for wrong answers.
- Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements is the heaviest domain at 35%, ahead of Consultative Sales Process at 33%.
- Application plus exam costs USD 500 for NAIFA members and USD 700 for nonmembers; NAIFA membership is not required.
The Plain Answer: What a LACP Is
In this context, LACP stands for Life and Annuity Certified Professional. It is a professional credential for experienced life insurance and annuity practitioners, awarded by the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (NAIFA) Certification Commission. If you searched "what is a LACP" and landed here, this article covers that specific credential and nothing else. The acronym is used elsewhere in other fields, but those are unrelated to the certification discussed on this site.
The designation signals that an advisor has met an experience threshold, attested to a code of ethics, and passed a proctored, standards-based exam covering the full arc of a life and annuity practice: the products, the sales conversation, and the rules governing both. If you want a quick orientation to related terminology, see our short explainers on what LACP stands for and the meaning of LACP.
Who Issues It and Who It Is For
The NAIFA Certification Commission oversees the credential. NAIFA is a long-standing association of insurance and financial professionals, and its Code of Ethics is built into the certification process: applicants must attest to it. The exam itself is administered by Meazure Learning as a proctored computer-based test.
The credential is aimed at working practitioners, not newcomers. You cannot sit for it right after getting licensed, because the eligibility rules require years of active experience selling life insurance. That makes the LACP closer to a "proof of seasoned competence" designation than an entry-level qualification. Candidates typically include career agents, producers, and advisors who want a third-party validation of their knowledge and ethics beyond their state license.
How LACP Differs From Coursework-Based Designations
One of the most useful ways to understand the LACP is to compare its structure with other well-known designations. NAIFA's own program page distinguishes the LACP's pathway (eligibility requirements plus an exam) from the LUTCF, which requires coursework. Likewise, The American College's CLU is organized around four courses, with course assessments rather than one cumulative program exam. Those are separate credentials and not substitutes for the LACP.
| Feature | LACP | CLU (for contrast) |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing body | NAIFA Certification Commission | The American College of Financial Services |
| Core pathway | Experience-based eligibility plus a single proctored exam | Four-course structure (effective April 1, 2026) |
| Cumulative program exam | Yes, 150 questions in three hours | No; assessments occur within courses |
| Required coursework | None required to sit for the exam | Course completion is the program |
The practical implication: with the LACP, your preparation is about exam performance and proving what you already know, rather than completing a curriculum. If you are weighing whether it fits your goals, our ROI analysis of the LACP walks through the trade-offs.
The Eligibility Path in Detail
Because the exam is gated by experience, eligibility is the first real hurdle. Our full breakdown lives in the LACP requirements guide, but the essentials are below.
Baseline requirements for every applicant
- Life insurance licensure in your jurisdiction of practice.
- Attestation to the NAIFA Code of Ethics.
- Three years and 6,000 hours as an active life insurance agent.
The additional qualification (choose one)
On top of the baseline, applicants must satisfy one of the following:
- An accredited bachelor's or higher degree, or an equivalent.
- An approved designation such as CLU, CFP, ChFC, FIC, FLMI, FSCP, or LUTCF.
- Two additional years and 4,000 hours of experience, bringing the total to five years and 10,000 hours.
What the Exam Looks Like
The LACP exam is a proctored, computer-based test of 150 multiple-choice questions with a three-hour limit. That works out to roughly 72 seconds per question on average, which is comfortable for knowledgeable practitioners but unforgiving if you stall on long scenario items.
A few format facts shape how you should approach test day:
- Review and change answers freely. You can go back through questions and revise responses before you submit or before time expires.
- No penalty for guessing. Scoring is scaled and wrong answers are not penalized, so never leave a question blank.
- Closed-resource environment. The dated handbooks prohibit books, notes, and personal calculators, and require current photo identification with your signature.
Delivery: test center versus online
Delivery details are an area where NAIFA's own materials are not perfectly consistent. The live program page describes test-center delivery, while the exam registration page also describes live online proctoring but still carries older Scantron branding and an inconsistent testing calendar. The safe approach is to follow the current Meazure notice when you schedule, since that governs actual appointment availability. We track scheduling mechanics in our LACP exam dates guide.
The Three Exam Domains
NAIFA publishes three content domains with weights, and the same weights appear in both retrieved Candidate Handbook editions (April 2020 and April 2021). The detailed objectives come from NAIFA's LACP Exam Content Outline, which is based on a 2017 job analysis. No newly dated 2026 blueprint was verified, so treat these weights as the current published figures. For a deeper dive, see our complete guide to all three LACP content areas.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Domain 1: Product Knowledge | 32% |
| Domain 2: Consultative Sales Process | 33% |
| Domain 3: Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements | 35% |
Notice how evenly distributed the weights are. There is no throwaway domain: each one accounts for roughly a third of the exam, which means a weak area cannot be offset simply by excelling elsewhere.
Domain 1: Product Knowledge (32%)
This domain tests whether you understand the life insurance and annuity products you sell well enough to explain how they work, where they fit, and where they do not.
- Know the structure and features of life insurance and annuity products at a practitioner's depth, not just definitions.
- Be ready to match product characteristics to client situations in scenario-style questions.
- Review the Exam Content Outline objectives line by line to find gaps in areas you rarely sell.
Domain 2: Consultative Sales Process (33%)
This domain covers the advisory side of the work: how you discover needs, analyze a client's situation, recommend solutions, and follow through.
- Expect questions framed around client conversations and professional judgment rather than rote recall.
- Think in terms of a needs-based, client-centered process from first meeting to ongoing service.
- Experienced agents sometimes underestimate this domain because the knowledge is intuitive; practice articulating the "why" behind each step.
Domain 3: Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements (35%)
The largest domain on the exam. It covers the rules and professional standards that govern how life and annuity business must be conducted.
- Because the NAIFA Code of Ethics is part of the application attestation, expect ethics reasoning to feature prominently.
- Prepare for questions that ask what you should do when ethical duties, legal requirements, and sales goals pull in different directions.
- Do not rely on your state license knowledge alone; verify against the content outline objectives.
Fees, Retakes, and Rescheduling
The financial structure is straightforward and published by NAIFA. For a full cost walkthrough including renewal, see the LACP certification cost breakdown.
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Application plus exam (NAIFA member) | USD 500 |
| Application plus exam (nonmember) | USD 700 |
| Application plus exam (resident outside the United States) | USD 500 |
| Re-examination (within the 366-day eligibility period) | USD 300 |
| Reschedule or cancel (at least four business days' notice) | USD 50 |
Retake rules to know before you test
- One retest is allowed per eligibility period.
- No more than two attempts may occur in any 12-month period.
- Re-examination must happen within the 366-day eligibility period to qualify for the USD 300 rate.
The retake cap is the part that should shape your strategy. With a limited number of attempts, going in under-prepared is an expensive gamble, not a free practice round.
Scoring: What Is and Is Not Known
Scoring is scaled. NAIFA does not specify an exact number of correct answers or a percentage needed to pass, and no official numeric passing threshold was verified in the sources reviewed. Likewise, no current pass rate could be verified. We would rather say that plainly than repeat an unsupported figure you may see elsewhere. Our pages on the LACP passing score and the LACP pass rate explain what the available data does and does not support.
Practically, this means you should not study toward a guessed cut score. Instead, aim for comfortable command of all three domains, since no domain can be safely neglected, and use the no-penalty rule to answer every item.
After You Pass: Renewal and Practice Hours
The credential is not permanent. It renews every three years for USD 300, using a license-based process on NAIFA's dedicated recertification page. Key points:
- A current life insurance license documents your ongoing continuing education.
- Certificants attest to at least 500 practice hours per year involving life insurance and annuities.
- Renewal submissions are accepted between 12 months and 30 days before expiration.
- An application left incomplete for 180 days after it is opened closes.
Career Value and Who Hires LACPs
Here it pays to be careful. The LACP is a credential held by practicing agents and advisors, so it is less a "job title" than a differentiator among people already working in life and annuity sales. Employers and distribution channels in this space include insurance carriers, agencies, independent marketing organizations, and financial advisory firms; the credential supports credibility with clients and peers rather than guaranteeing any particular role. For a look at roles where the credential is relevant, see our overview of LACP jobs.
On earnings, no salary premium specific to the LACP has been established. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a median annual pay of USD 62,280 for insurance sales agents in May 2025, but that figure includes commissions and bonuses, excludes self-employed workers, and does not measure any LACP-related premium. Treat it as context for the occupation, not a promise attached to the credential. Our LACP salary guide covers this in more depth.
Key Takeaway
Think of the LACP as a credibility and ethics credential for experienced practitioners. Its value comes from verified experience, a proctored exam, and ongoing practice-hour accountability, not from a documented pay bump.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
NAIFA describes an optional self-paced prep course and a paid electronic study guide on its preparation page; the contents of the paid materials were not retrieved for this review. A separate official practice test was listed at USD 50 in the 2021 handbook, but that is a historical price and the current question count and cost could not be verified. For a fuller approach, our LACP study guide and one-page cheat sheet are good companions, and you can take a practice test to find your weak domains early.
Because every domain is weighted between 32% and 35%, a sensible schedule front-loads whatever you use least in daily practice. A sample six-week arrangement:
Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements
- Read the NAIFA Code of Ethics and map it to the content outline objectives.
- Review regulatory and compliance topics you handle least often.
Product Knowledge
- Audit every life and annuity product type against the outline, especially ones outside your usual book.
- Practice matching products to client scenarios.
Consultative Sales Process
- Walk through the full needs-based process and note where exam wording differs from your habits.
Timed mixed review
- Do a full 150-question simulation in three hours under closed-resource conditions.
- Rework any domain where your results lag. Try our practice exams for timed repetition.
If you are wondering how demanding all this is, our LACP difficulty guide gives a realistic picture of what to expect, and our LACP training overview covers structured prep options.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, LACP stands for Life and Annuity Certified Professional, a credential issued by the NAIFA Certification Commission for experienced life insurance and annuity practitioners.
No. NAIFA membership is not listed as an eligibility condition. Members do pay less, though: USD 500 versus USD 700 for nonmembers for the application plus exam.
The proctored computer-based exam has 150 multiple-choice questions with a three-hour limit. You can review and change answers before submitting, and wrong answers carry no penalty.
Scoring is scaled, and NAIFA does not specify an exact correct-answer count or percentage needed to pass. No official numeric threshold or current pass rate was verified, so be cautious of unsourced figures.
Every three years for USD 300. A current life insurance license documents continuing education, and you attest to at least 500 practice hours per year involving life insurance and annuities.
For a broader overview of the credential beyond this definition, see our pages on LACP certification and what LACP certification involves.