- Which LACP This Sheet Covers
- The Exam at a Glance
- Domain Weights and What Each One Tests
- Eligibility in One Table
- Fees and Money Facts
- Exam-Day Rules
- Scoring: What Is and Isn't Known
- Renewal Mechanics
- Where NAIFA's Own Pages Disagree
- Weighting Your Prep Time
- Where the Credential Fits Professionally
- Quick-Answer FAQ
- The exam is 150 multiple-choice questions in three hours, with no penalty for wrong answers.
- Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements is the heaviest domain at 35%, ahead of Consultative Sales Process at 33%.
- Fees are USD 500 for NAIFA members, USD 700 for nonmembers, and USD 500 for candidates residing outside the United States.
- Eligibility requires a life-insurance license plus five years/10,000 hours of combined experience, degree, or designation credit.
Which LACP This Sheet Covers
The acronym LACP is shared by several unrelated credentials, so one clarification up front: this cheat sheet covers the Life and Annuity Certified Professional (LACP), issued through the NAIFA Certification Commission, the certification body connected with the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors. If you are looking for a different credential that happens to share the letters, nothing here (fees, dates, domain weights) transfers to it.
If you need a primer on the credential itself before memorizing facts, start with What Is LACP Certification? and then return here for the condensed review. When you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, the main practice test site is the natural next stop.
The Exam at a Glance
These are the logistics worth memorizing before anything else.
| Item | Fact |
|---|---|
| Format | Proctored, computer-based exam |
| Questions | 150 multiple-choice |
| Time limit | Three hours |
| Administrator | Meazure Learning |
| Scoring | Scaled; no penalty for incorrect answers |
| Review | You may review questions and change answers before submitting or before time expires |
| Content outline | NAIFA's LACP Exam Content Outline, based on the 2017 job analysis |
Three hours for 150 questions works out to roughly 72 seconds per question on average. That is comfortable for straightforward recall items but tighter for scenario-style questions, so your pacing should account for a few longer reads. Because there is no wrong-answer penalty, never leave an item blank. Mark uncertain questions, give your best guess, and use the review function to return to them if time remains.
Domain Weights and What Each One Tests
The three official domain labels and weights appear on page 4 of both retrieved NAIFA Candidate Handbook editions (the April 2020 and April 2021 versions), and the live program page still identifies the same three areas. No newly dated 2026 blueprint has been verified, so treat these weights as the best published figures rather than a guaranteed 2026 distribution. For a deeper walkthrough, see LACP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.
| Domain | Weight | Approx. of 150 items* |
|---|---|---|
| Product Knowledge | 32% | about 48 |
| Consultative Sales Process | 33% | about 50 |
| Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements | 35% | about 52 |
*Approximate item counts are simple arithmetic applied to the published weights; the exam may distribute scored and unscored items differently.
The spread is notably even: no domain is a throwaway. The largest, Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements, edges out the others by only a few points, which means a weakness in any one area is costly.
Domain 1: Product Knowledge (32%)
This domain covers the life insurance and annuity products themselves: how they are structured, how they behave, and what they are suited for.
- Know the core distinctions between product categories and the features that separate them.
- Be ready to match a product's characteristics to a stated client situation.
- Expect questions where the wrong answers are plausible features of a different product.
Domain 2: Consultative Sales Process (33%)
This domain tests how a practitioner works with a client from discovery through recommendation and follow-through, rather than product recall.
- Think in terms of needs identification before product selection.
- Scenario questions typically ask for the best next step in a client conversation.
- The consultative framing means answers favoring client needs over a quick sale tend to be correct.
Domain 3: Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements (35%)
The heaviest domain. It covers the professional and legal obligations that govern how a producer conducts business.
- Applicants must attest to the NAIFA Code of Ethics, so expect ethics to be treated as a living standard, not trivia.
- Practice distinguishing what is merely permitted from what is required or prohibited.
- Regulatory questions reward careful reading of qualifiers like "always," "must," and "may."
For a candid look at how these areas translate into difficulty, read How Hard Is the LACP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Eligibility in One Table
LACP is an experience-gated credential: you cannot simply enroll in a course and sit the exam. NAIFA publishes the criteria on its LACP Exam Eligibility Criteria page, and the full walkthrough lives in LACP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
| Requirement | Detail |
|---|---|
| Licensure | Life-insurance license in your jurisdiction of practice |
| Ethics | Attestation to the NAIFA Code of Ethics |
| Core experience | Three years/6,000 hours as an active life insurance agent |
| Plus one of these | An accredited bachelor's or higher degree or equivalent; OR an approved designation such as CLU, CFP, ChFC, FIC, FLMI, FSCP or LUTCF; OR two additional years/4,000 hours of experience |
| Total if using experience route | Five years/10,000 hours |
| Disqualifier | Relevant felony convictions prevent eligibility |
| NAIFA membership | Not listed as an eligibility condition |
Fees and Money Facts
The application and examination are priced together. The full breakdown, including planning scenarios, is in LACP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application plus exam: NAIFA member | USD 500 |
| Application plus exam: nonmember | USD 700 |
| Application plus exam: resident outside the United States | USD 500 |
| Re-examination (within the 366-day eligibility period) | USD 300 |
| Reschedule/cancel (at least four business days' notice) | USD 50 |
| Recertification every three years | USD 300 |
Retake Rules to Memorize
- Your eligibility period is 366 days.
- You get one retest per eligibility period.
- No more than two attempts in any 12-month period.
Put plainly: a failed first attempt does not give you unlimited retries. Because the retest window and the attempt cap are firm, treating your first sitting as a serious attempt matters. A USD 300 retake is cheaper than a full second application, but it still comes out of your own pocket and consumes your one retest.
Practice-test note: an older handbook listed USD 50 for a separate official practice test, but that is a historical price and the current question count and price could not be verified. Check NAIFA's current preparation page rather than relying on that figure.
Exam-Day Rules
The dated Candidate Handbooks prohibit books, notes, and personal calculators, and they require current photo identification bearing your signature. A mismatch between the name on your registration and your ID is the kind of avoidable problem that ends an exam day before it starts, so check both well before your appointment.
Delivery format deserves a careful look. The live LACP Program page describes test-center delivery, while the LACP Exam Schedule and Registration page also describes live online proctoring but still carries older Scantron branding and an inconsistent testing calendar. The practical advice is to follow the current Meazure notice when you schedule, and confirm which delivery options and appointment times are actually available to you. For timing questions, see LACP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Scoring: What Is and Isn't Known
This is the section where cheat sheets elsewhere tend to overreach, so here are the careful facts:
- Scoring is scaled.
- There is no penalty for incorrect answers.
- NAIFA does not specify an exact number or percentage of correct answers needed to pass.
- No official numeric passing threshold or current pass rate was verified.
That means any website quoting a precise cut score or pass percentage for LACP is asserting something the published NAIFA material does not support. Our own breakdowns at LACP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass and LACP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows stay within what has been verified. The safest strategy is to prepare so that you are comfortably strong in all three domains rather than trying to engineer a minimum.
Renewal Mechanics
Earning the credential is not the end of the administrative story. According to NAIFA's LACP Recertification page:
- Certification renews every three years for USD 300.
- A current life insurance license documents ongoing continuing education.
- Certificants attest to at least 500 practice hours per year involving life insurance and annuities.
- Submit renewal between 12 months and 30 days before expiration.
- An application left incomplete for 180 days after opening closes.
Key Takeaway
Set a calendar reminder for the 12-month mark before your expiration, not the 30-day mark. The renewal window opens a full year ahead, and an application left idle for 180 days closes, so starting early removes any scramble.
Where NAIFA's Own Pages Disagree
One reason candidates get confused is that NAIFA's older documents and its live pages do not fully agree. Knowing which source wins saves you from acting on stale information.
| Topic | Older handbooks / FAQ | Live program and recertification pages |
|---|---|---|
| Renewal route | Retain a 30-hour continuing-education or re-examination route | License-based recertification with 500-hour annual attestation |
| Testing provider | Scantron branding retained | Meazure Learning administers the exam |
| Testing windows | Different windows described | Follow current Meazure scheduling notice |
The working rule: for operational policy such as renewal, scheduling, and delivery, trust the live LACP Program page and the dedicated recertification page over the dated handbooks and the separate FAQ. The handbooks remain valuable for the published domain weights and for exam-day conduct rules, but they also contain some inconsistent scheduling and eligibility statements.
Weighting Your Prep Time
You do not need an elaborate method here. The one LACP-specific decision that matters is how to allocate effort across the three domains, given that they are nearly equal in weight. A sensible sequence for a multi-week plan:
Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements
- Start with the heaviest domain at 35% so it gets the most repetition.
- Re-read the NAIFA Code of Ethics you will be attesting to.
Product Knowledge
- Build side-by-side comparisons of product features.
- Use the 32% weight as a reminder that recall errors here are expensive.
Consultative Sales Process
- Work scenario questions on discovery, recommendation, and follow-through.
- Practice choosing the best next step, not just a correct step.
Mixed practice and timing
- Run full-length timed sets on the practice test site to rehearse 150 questions in three hours.
- Review every missed item by domain, then revisit your weakest one.
For a fuller plan, including resource options, see LACP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. NAIFA also describes an optional self-paced prep course and a paid electronic study guide; the paid contents were not retrieved for this review, so evaluate them against the Content Outline yourself.
Where the Credential Fits Professionally
LACP is aimed at practitioners who already work in life insurance and annuities, which is why the eligibility bar requires licensure and years of active selling experience. It is distinct from coursework-driven designations. NAIFA's program page distinguishes LACP's eligibility-plus-exam pathway from the LUTCF, which requires coursework, and the American College's CLU (Chartered Life Underwriter) uses a four-course structure with course assessments and no cumulative program exam. CLU and LUTCF are separate credentials and are not substitutes for LACP.
On earnings, be cautious. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a median annual pay of USD 62,280 for insurance sales agents as of May 2025. That figure includes commissions and bonuses for employees, excludes self-employed workers, and does not establish an LACP earnings premium. Whether the credential pays off for you depends on your market, your book of business, and how you use it. For the full discussion, see LACP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the LACP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Quick-Answer FAQ
The exam has 150 multiple-choice questions with a three-hour limit. It is a proctored, computer-based test administered by Meazure Learning, and you can review and change answers before submitting.
Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements carries the largest weight at 35%. Consultative Sales Process is 33% and Product Knowledge is 32%, so all three domains matter.
No. Scoring is scaled and there is no penalty for incorrect answers, so you should answer every question, including those you are unsure about.
NAIFA does not specify an exact correct-answer count or percentage needed to pass, and no official numeric threshold or current pass rate was verified. Be wary of any source that quotes a precise cut score.
You may retest once per 366-day eligibility period, at USD 300, and no more than two attempts are allowed in any 12-month period. Rescheduling or cancelling costs USD 50 with at least four business days' notice.
That is the whole sheet: the format, the three domain weights, the money, the rules, and the renewal clock. Print the tables, verify anything time-sensitive against NAIFA's live program page before you register, and then move from reading to practice.