- What a "Pass Rate" Would Mean for the LACP
- What Is and Isn't Verified in 2026
- How LACP Scoring Works
- Who Actually Sits for the Exam
- Where Candidates Lose Points: The Three Domains
- Retake Rules and the Cost of a Miss
- Exam Format and Delivery Factors
- A Domain-Weighted Prep Plan
- How to Judge Pass-Rate Claims You See Online
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No official current LACP pass rate was verified for 2026, so any specific percentage you see should be treated with suspicion.
- NAIFA does not publish an exact correct-answer count or percentage required to pass; scoring is scaled.
- The exam has 150 multiple-choice questions, a three-hour limit, and no penalty for wrong answers, so answer everything.
- Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements carries the largest weight at 35%, ahead of Consultative Sales Process (33%) and Product Knowledge (32%).
What a "Pass Rate" Would Mean for the LACP
Candidates searching for the Life and Annuity Certified Professional (LACP) pass rate usually want one number: the share of test-takers who pass on the first try. That is a reasonable question, and it is the same one people ask about nearly every professional credential. The honest answer for the LACP in 2026 is that the number is not publicly verifiable, and the reasons are worth understanding because they shape how you should prepare.
The LACP is awarded by the NAIFA Certification Commission, the credentialing arm of the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors. Unlike some designations that publish annual pass statistics, the program materials reviewed for this article do not include a current pass rate. Rather than fill that gap with a guess, this article walks through what the available program documentation does tell you, and how to turn those facts into a realistic read on your odds.
If you want a broader view of how demanding the test is, our companion piece on how hard the LACP exam is covers difficulty from the candidate's perspective. If you want the scoring side in detail, see LACP passing score.
What Is and Isn't Verified in 2026
It helps to separate three categories of information: what NAIFA documents, what it leaves unspecified, and what circulates informally.
| Item | Status for 2026 |
|---|---|
| Exam length and format | Documented: 150 multiple-choice questions, three-hour limit, proctored computer-based exam administered by Meazure Learning |
| Domain weights | Documented in the Candidate Handbook: Product Knowledge 32%, Consultative Sales Process 33%, Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements 35% |
| Scoring method | Documented: scaled scoring, no penalty for incorrect answers |
| Exact passing threshold | Not specified: no official count or percentage of correct answers was verified |
| Current pass rate | Not verified: no official figure located |
| Newly dated 2026 blueprint | Not verified: the live program page still identifies the same three content areas |
The domain weights come from NAIFA's Candidate Handbook, which appears in a 2020 edition (the version the live program page currently links to) and a 2021 edition that remains publicly accessible. Both give identical weights. The detailed objectives sit in NAIFA's LACP Exam Content Outline, which is based on a 2017 job analysis. No newly dated 2026 blueprint was found, so treat the weights as the best available guide rather than a freshly reissued specification.
How LACP Scoring Works
The LACP uses scaled scoring. In scaled scoring, raw performance is converted onto a common reporting scale so that results remain comparable across different versions of an exam. The practical consequence is that NAIFA does not tell candidates "you need 105 of 150." Our guide to the LACP passing score explains what is and is not known about the standard.
Two scoring facts do help you strategically:
- No penalty for incorrect answers. A blank is never better than a guess. Answer every question, including the ones you are unsure about.
- You can review and change answers. Candidates may revisit questions before submission or time expiry, so flag uncertain items and return to them.
With 150 questions in three hours, you have roughly 72 seconds per question on average. That is generous for straightforward recall items and tighter for scenario-style questions that require you to weigh several plausible options. Budget time accordingly and keep moving.
Who Actually Sits for the Exam
One reason pass rates for experience-gated credentials behave differently from entry-level licensing exams is that the candidate pool is pre-screened. You cannot simply sign up for the LACP on day one of a career. NAIFA's eligibility criteria require:
- Life-insurance licensure in your jurisdiction of practice
- A NAIFA Code of Ethics attestation
- Three years and 6,000 hours as an active life insurance agent
- Plus one of the following: an accredited bachelor's or higher degree or equivalent, an approved designation such as CLU, CFP, ChFC, FIC, FLMI, FSCP or LUTCF, or two additional years and 4,000 hours of experience (totaling five years and 10,000 hours)
Relevant felony convictions prevent eligibility, and NAIFA membership is not listed as an eligibility condition. For the full qualification walkthrough, see LACP requirements.
The takeaway is that everyone taking the exam already has years of field experience. That cuts both ways. Candidates arrive with real familiarity with suitability conversations, replacement rules, and product mechanics. But experience also breeds habits, and the exam tests the codified standard, not "how my agency does it." Veteran agents who skip structured review sometimes get caught on terminology or regulatory specifics that daily practice never forces them to recite.
Where Candidates Lose Points: The Three Domains
Because no official pass-rate data breaks performance down by domain, the following is an analysis of where the weighting and content create risk, not a statistic. For a full tour of each content area, read our LACP exam domains guide.
Domain 1: Product Knowledge (32%)
This domain rewards candidates who know life insurance and annuity products precisely, not just conversationally.
- Distinctions among product types, features, and riders
- How contract provisions and options operate in practice
- Matching product characteristics to client needs described in a scenario
Domain 2: Consultative Sales Process (33%)
Here the exam tests process discipline: how a professional discovers needs, analyzes them, recommends, and follows up.
- Fact-finding and needs analysis before any recommendation
- Presenting solutions in a client-centered way
- Ongoing service and review of existing coverage
Domain 3: Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements (35%)
This is the largest domain and the one most likely to separate prepared candidates from confident-but-unprepared ones.
- The NAIFA Code of Ethics and professional conduct standards
- Legal and regulatory obligations governing life and annuity sales
- Judgment calls where the compliant answer differs from the expedient one
Notice how tightly the weights cluster: 32%, 33%, and 35%. There is no throwaway domain. A candidate who is brilliant on products but casual about ethics and regulation is leaving over a third of the exam exposed.
Key Takeaway
Do not allocate study time by comfort. Allocate it by weight and weakness. Because Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements is the biggest slice, a gap there costs more than a gap in either other domain.
Retake Rules and the Cost of a Miss
Whatever the true pass rate is, the retake rules raise the stakes on a first attempt. Fees documented by NAIFA:
| Fee item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application plus examination (NAIFA member) | USD 500 |
| Application plus examination (nonmember) | USD 700 |
| Application plus examination (residing outside the U.S.) | USD 500 |
| Re-examination (within the 366-day eligibility period) | USD 300 |
| Rescheduling or cancellation (at least four business days' notice) | USD 50 |
Only one retest is allowed per eligibility period, and no more than two attempts in any 12-month period. In plain terms, you effectively get a first attempt and one second chance within roughly a year. A failed first attempt costs you the USD 300 retest fee on top of the original fee and puts pressure on your preparation window. For the complete picture, see our LACP certification cost breakdown.
Exam Format and Delivery Factors
Meazure Learning administers the proctored computer-based exam. A few format details affect performance and are easy to overlook:
- No outside materials. The dated handbooks prohibit books, notes, and personal calculators.
- Identification. Current photo identification with a signature is required.
- Delivery mode. The live program page describes test-center delivery, while the registration page also describes live online proctoring. Because older pages still show Scantron branding and an inconsistent testing calendar, follow the current Meazure notice for the delivery options and appointment availability that apply to you.
Administrative friction is a quiet source of failed attempts. A rejected ID or an unfamiliar testing environment adds stress that has nothing to do with your knowledge. Sort out logistics early so exam day is only about the questions.
A Domain-Weighted Prep Plan
This is the one place we will talk about study structure, and it is tied to the LACP's blueprint. The logic: start with the heaviest and most rule-bound domain while you are fresh, then layer in products and process, and finish with mixed review. For a fuller approach, see the LACP study guide, and keep the LACP cheat sheet handy for last-week review.
Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements
- Work through the NAIFA Code of Ethics and the related objectives in the Exam Content Outline
- Practice scenario items where the ethical answer is not the easiest one
Product Knowledge
- Rebuild precision on product types, features, and contract provisions
- Turn each product into a "who is this right for" scenario
Consultative Sales Process
- Walk the sequence from discovery through recommendation and service
- Identify where a question is testing process order rather than product fact
Mixed Timed Practice
- Run full-length sets under a three-hour clock using the LACP practice test
- Review every miss against the relevant domain objective
NAIFA also describes an optional self-paced prep course and a paid electronic study guide on its preparation page. We could not retrieve the paid contents, so we cannot characterize them. A separate official practice test has been listed historically at USD 50 in the 2021 handbook, but the current provider pages were inaccessible and the current price and question count could not be verified, so confirm directly with NAIFA before budgeting. Our LACP training overview covers preparation options in more depth.
How to Judge Pass-Rate Claims You See Online
Because there is no verified official number, you will see claims that sound authoritative. Use this checklist before trusting any of them:
- Look for the source. Does the claim point to NAIFA or the NAIFA Certification Commission, or to an unnamed "industry estimate"?
- Check the date. The handbooks reviewed here carry validity windows that have long passed; a figure tied to an older edition may not reflect today's exam.
- Confirm it is the right credential. The letters LACP are used by other, unrelated credentials. A statistic about a different certification says nothing about the Life and Annuity Certified Professional designation.
- Ask what "pass" means. First-attempt versus all-attempts, members versus nonmembers, and different testing windows can all produce wildly different numbers.
If you are still deciding whether the credential is worth pursuing at all, our analysis of whether the LACP is worth it frames the decision around career value rather than exam statistics. For context on earnings, note that the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a median annual pay of USD 62,280 for insurance sales agents in May 2025; that measure includes commissions and bonuses, excludes self-employed workers, and does not establish an earnings premium for the LACP specifically. See the LACP salary guide for more.
Frequently Asked Questions
No official current pass rate was verified for 2026. NAIFA's program materials do not publish one in the sources reviewed, so any specific percentage you encounter should be treated as unconfirmed unless it cites NAIFA directly.
NAIFA does not specify an exact correct-answer count or percentage. The exam uses scaled scoring across 150 multiple-choice questions, and there is no penalty for incorrect answers, so you should answer every item.
Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements at 35%. Consultative Sales Process follows at 33%, and Product Knowledge at 32%. The weights are close, so no domain can be safely neglected.
You may retest once per eligibility period for USD 300 within the 366-day eligibility period, with no more than two attempts in any 12-month period. Plan your first attempt carefully because the retake allowance is limited.
Experience helps with scenarios and product familiarity, and eligibility already requires years of field work. But the exam tests the codified standard, especially in ethics and regulation, so structured review of the Exam Content Outline is still important. See what LACP certification is for background on the credential.