LACP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

LACP Certification

TL;DR
  • LACP is awarded by the NAIFA Certification Commission and requires both eligibility documentation and a proctored exam.
  • The exam has 150 multiple-choice questions, a three-hour limit, and no penalty for wrong answers.
  • Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements carries the largest weight at 35%, just ahead of Consultative Sales Process at 33%.
  • Exam plus application costs USD 500 for NAIFA members and USD 700 for nonmembers; NAIFA membership is not an eligibility condition.

What the LACP Credential Actually Is

The Life and Annuity Certified Professional designation is a credential for life insurance and annuity practitioners, issued by the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors Certification Commission (the NAIFA Certification Commission). It is built around a single idea: a practitioner should demonstrate, through verified experience and a proctored exam, that they can sell life and annuity products competently and ethically.

That framing explains the shape of the program. Unlike designations that you earn by completing a sequence of courses, LACP is an eligibility-plus-exam pathway. You document your licensure and field experience, attest to NAIFA's Code of Ethics, and then pass a single comprehensive exam. If you are new to the terminology, the explainers on what LACP certification is and what LACP stands for cover the basics, and this article focuses on how the pieces fit together for a candidate actually planning to sit for it.

Why the acronym matters: Several unrelated credentials share the letters LACP. Everything on this page refers only to the Life and Annuity Certified Professional designation from NAIFA's Certification Commission. If a source mentions a different certifying body, fees, or exam length, it is describing a different credential.

Who Qualifies to Sit for the Exam

Eligibility is where LACP differs most from entry-level insurance credentials. This is not a designation for someone who just passed a state licensing exam. NAIFA's eligibility criteria require a combination of licensure, ethics attestation, and substantial field time. For the full walkthrough, see LACP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. The core elements are:

  • Licensure: a life-insurance license in your jurisdiction of practice.
  • Ethics attestation: an attestation to the NAIFA Code of Ethics.
  • Base experience: three years and 6,000 hours as an active life insurance agent.
  • A second qualifier, satisfied in one of three ways: an accredited bachelor's or higher degree (or equivalent); an approved designation such as CLU, CFP, ChFC, FIC, FLMI, FSCP or LUTCF; or two additional years and 4,000 hours of experience.

The experience-only route therefore totals five years and 10,000 hours. Relevant felony convictions prevent eligibility. Notably, NAIFA membership is not listed as an eligibility condition, so nonmembers can qualify; membership only changes the fee, as covered below.

Practical implication: Because eligibility is experience-driven, most candidates arrive with real client-facing history. That shapes the exam too. The questions reward applied judgment about products, client conversations, and compliance rather than memorized definitions alone.

The Three Exam Domains and Their Weights

The exam content is organized into three domains. The labels and weights appear on page 4 of both retrieved editions of NAIFA's Candidate Handbook (the April 2020 and April 2021 editions), and the detailed objectives come from NAIFA's LACP Exam Content Outline, which is based on a 2017 job analysis. The live program page still identifies the same three areas, though no newly dated 2026 blueprint was verified. Treat the weights as the published structure rather than a guarantee of exact question counts on your form.

DomainPublished WeightWhat It Tests
Product Knowledge32%Life and annuity products, features, and how they work
Consultative Sales Process33%Fact-finding, needs analysis, recommendation, and service
Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements35%Professional conduct, legal duties, and regulatory compliance

The three weights sit within three percentage points of one another. There is no throwaway domain, and no single area can be neglected. A deeper breakdown lives in LACP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 3 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Product Knowledge (32%)

This domain asks whether you truly understand the instruments you recommend. Experienced agents often know their own carriers' products deeply but have gaps elsewhere in the product universe.

  • How life insurance and annuity products are structured and what distinguishes one type from another
  • Product features, benefits, and limitations as they apply to different client situations
  • Matching product characteristics to stated client objectives
  • Being able to explain tradeoffs accurately rather than selling a single favorite product

Domain 2: Consultative Sales Process (33%)

This is the practice-of-the-profession domain. It is less about products in isolation and more about the sequence of a client engagement from first conversation through ongoing service.

  • Discovering client needs, goals, and circumstances before proposing anything
  • Analyzing needs and building a recommendation that follows from the facts gathered
  • Presenting, documenting, and following up in a way that supports the client relationship
  • Recognizing when a client's situation calls for a different approach than the one you expected

Domain 3: Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements (35%)

The largest domain, and the one where experienced agents are most tempted to rely on instinct. Scenario questions here reward careful reading and a disciplined view of what the rules and the professional code actually require.

  • The NAIFA Code of Ethics, which every candidate has already attested to during application
  • Legal and regulatory obligations that govern life insurance and annuity sales
  • Suitability, disclosure, and handling of conflicts of interest
  • Choosing the compliant action when a commercially attractive option is not the right one

Exam Format, Scoring, and Test-Day Rules

The exam is a proctored computer-based test administered by Meazure Learning. It consists of 150 multiple-choice questions with a three-hour limit, which works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you spread your time evenly. Candidates may review questions and change answers before submitting or before time expires, so flagging and returning to difficult items is a legitimate strategy.

Scoring is scaled, and there is no penalty for incorrect answers. That second point is simple but important: never leave a question blank. If you are down to two plausible options, guess and move on.

What is not published: NAIFA does not specify an exact number or percentage of correct answers needed to pass, and no official numeric passing threshold or current pass rate could be verified. Be skeptical of any site quoting a precise cut score or pass percentage. For a plain-language discussion of what is and is not known, read LACP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass and LACP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

Test-day restrictions

The dated candidate handbooks prohibit books, notes, and personal calculators, and require current photo identification bearing your signature. Plan accordingly: any math you need must be doable by reasoning, and your ID should be checked well before the appointment. Because the handbook language predates the current program pages, confirm the latest rules in your Meazure appointment notice.

Delivery method: read the current notice

The live LACP program page describes test-center delivery, while the registration page also describes live online proctoring but still carries older Scantron branding and an inconsistent testing calendar. The dated handbooks and the LACP FAQ likewise retain Scantron references and different testing windows. The safe approach is to follow your current Meazure notice for delivery options and appointment availability rather than relying on any single older document. Scheduling specifics are discussed in LACP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Fees, Retakes, and Scheduling Mechanics

The application and examination fee is combined. Pricing depends on membership status and residence:

ItemAmount
Application plus exam, NAIFA memberUSD 500
Application plus exam, nonmemberUSD 700
Application plus exam, candidate residing outside the United StatesUSD 500
Re-examination (within the 366-day eligibility period)USD 300
Reschedule or cancel (at least four business days' notice)USD 50
Renewal every three yearsUSD 300

Two retake rules deserve attention. You are allowed one retest per eligibility period, and no more than two attempts in any 12-month period. Since the retest fee is USD 300, a failed first attempt is costly but not catastrophic; still, the combined structure means you should treat your first sitting as the one you prepare for seriously. The full cost picture, including how membership interacts with price, is broken down in LACP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Membership math: The USD 200 difference between the member and nonmember fee is a factor to weigh against the cost of NAIFA membership itself. Because membership is not an eligibility requirement, you can sit for the exam without joining; whether joining pays off depends on what else you would use the membership for.

A note on practice tests

The 2021 handbook listed a separate official practice test at USD 50, but that is a historical price, and the provider pages could not be reached to verify the current question count or cost. Check NAIFA's exam preparation page for the current offerings, which describe an optional self-paced prep course and a paid electronic study guide. For additional timed practice under exam-like conditions, you can use the LACP Exam Prep practice tests.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

Because the domains are weighted nearly evenly, the right question is not which domain matters most but which one your daily work has left you weakest in. Experienced producers tend to be strongest in Consultative Sales Process because they live it, weaker in the breadth of Product Knowledge outside their usual carriers, and overconfident in Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements. Here is one way to order a six-week plan around that reality.

Weeks 1-2

Product Knowledge: close the breadth gaps

  • List every life and annuity product type and write a one-line statement of who it suits and who it does not
  • Prioritize the products you rarely sell, since those are where blind spots hide
  • Review the official content outline objective by objective and mark each as strong, shaky, or unknown
Weeks 3-4

Ethical, Legal, and Regulatory Requirements: the heaviest domain

  • Re-read the NAIFA Code of Ethics you attested to during application, not as a formality but as testable material
  • Work scenario questions slowly, identifying the duty at stake before looking at the answer options
  • Note every question where the commercially tempting answer differs from the compliant one
Week 5

Consultative Sales Process: formalize what you already do

  • Map your real client workflow onto the stages in the content outline
  • Practice recognizing which stage a scenario describes and what step logically comes next
Week 6

Full-length simulation

  • Sit a 150-question set in one three-hour block, without notes or a calculator, mirroring the real restrictions
  • Review misses by domain and spend remaining days on the lowest-scoring one

For a fuller treatment of materials and tactics, see the LACP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and keep the LACP Cheat Sheet handy for last-week review. If you want structured instruction rather than self-direction, the overview of LACP training options lays out what is available.

Key Takeaway

Do not let your strongest day-to-day skill dictate your study time. Rank your weakest domain honestly using the content outline, then give it the first and largest block of hours. With no domain below 32%, a serious gap anywhere can cost you.

How hard is it, really?

Because no pass rate is published, difficulty is best judged by the structure: a long, three-hour exam, scenario-heavy ethics content, and a candidate pool that already has years of field experience. Candidates who prepare with the published objectives tend to find the exam fair but not trivial. The question is explored further in How Hard Is the LACP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Keeping the Certification Current

Earning the designation is not the end of the administrative path. According to NAIFA's recertification page, the certification renews every three years for USD 300. Renewal is license-based: a current life insurance license documents your ongoing continuing education, and you attest to at least 500 practice hours per year involving life insurance and annuities.

  • Submit your renewal between 12 months and 30 days before expiration.
  • An application left incomplete for 180 days after opening closes, so do not start the form and set it aside.
Source conflict to be aware of: The dated handbooks and the separate LACP FAQ describe an older renewal route involving 30 hours of continuing education or re-examination. The current recertification page describes the license-based process above. For operational policy, rely on the live program and recertification pages, and confirm anything ambiguous directly with NAIFA.

Career Value and What the Data Does Not Say

Candidates reasonably want to know whether the investment pays off. The honest answer is that hard numbers specific to LACP holders are not available. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a median annual pay of USD 62,280 for insurance sales agents in May 2025, but that figure covers the occupation broadly, includes commissions and bonuses for employees, excludes self-employed workers, and does not establish an earnings premium for holding LACP. Anyone promising a specific salary lift from the designation is going beyond the evidence.

What the credential plausibly offers is more qualitative: a verifiable, third-party signal of experience and ethical standing, which can matter in client-facing conversations and when presenting yourself to agencies, carriers, and financial advisory firms that value professional credentials. The practical discussion of roles is in LACP Jobs, the earnings context is in the LACP Salary Guide 2026, and a structured cost-versus-benefit view is in Is the LACP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

LACP Compared With Neighboring Designations

Practitioners often weigh LACP against other well-known insurance designations. The key distinction is how each is earned, and they are separate credentials rather than substitutes for one another.

DesignationHow It Is EarnedNotes
LACPEligibility documentation (licensure, ethics attestation, experience) plus one proctored 150-question examNAIFA Certification Commission; no required coursework
LUTCFRequired courseworkDistinguished from LACP's eligibility-plus-exam pathway on NAIFA's program page
CLUFour-course structure effective April 1, 2026, with course assessmentsThe American College of Financial Services; no cumulative program exam

Notice that several of these, including CLU and LUTCF, appear on the list of approved designations that can satisfy LACP's second eligibility qualifier. They are not rivals so much as potential stepping stones, and a candidate who already holds one may find the path to LACP shorter on the experience side.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who issues the LACP certification?

The National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors Certification Commission (the NAIFA Certification Commission) issues the Life and Annuity Certified Professional designation. Meazure Learning administers the proctored computer-based exam.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I have?

The exam has 150 multiple-choice questions with a three-hour time limit. There is no penalty for incorrect answers, and you can review and change answers before you submit or time runs out.

What is the passing score?

NAIFA does not specify an exact number or percentage of correct answers needed to pass. Scoring is scaled, and no official numeric threshold or current pass rate was verified, so avoid sources that claim a precise cut score.

Do I have to be a NAIFA member to take the exam?

No. Membership is not listed as an eligibility condition. It only affects price: the application plus exam fee is USD 500 for members and USD 700 for nonmembers, and USD 500 for candidates residing outside the United States.

What happens if I fail the first time?

Re-examination costs USD 300 within the 366-day eligibility period. One retest is allowed per eligibility period, and no more than two attempts are permitted in any 12-month period.

If you meet the experience requirements and are ready to test your readiness against the three published domains, a timed run through realistic questions is the most efficient next step. Start with the LACP practice exams and use your domain-level results to decide where to spend your remaining study hours.

Ready to pass your LACP exam?

Put this into practice with free LACP questions across every exam domain.